Mauritius-Africa Scholarship Scheme

Higher Education is one of the key elements of growth and social development in Africa. One of the targets under Goal 4 of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) is to substantially expand globally the number of scholarships available to developing countries by 2020. As part of its commitment to promote capacity-building at high level across the continent, the Government of Mauritius is offering 50 scholarships for full-time, on-campus undergraduate studies in public Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) in Mauritius to deserving students who are resident citizens of member states of the African Union. The scholarships will be for a maximum of four (4) years or the minimum course duration whichever is lesser. The Scholarships make provision for:

  1. MUR (Mauritian Rupee) 100,000 per annum for beneficiaries from SADC countries and up to a maximum of MUR 160,000 per annum for those from non-SADC countries to be allocated yearly, directly to the HEI, to meet tuition fees and related course costs;*
  2. A monthly living allowance of MUR 8,300 to be paid to awardees as support to meet their living expenses. Students are expected to supplement this amount to cover the cost of living in Mauritius;
  3. International student air travel (economy class) fare via the most economical route, at the start of studies, from country of citizenship to Mauritius, and a return airfare after successful completion of studies.

Selection is made by a Scholarship Panel under the aegis of the Ministry of Education and Human Resources, Tertiary Education and Scientific Research while the Higher Education Commission manages the disbursement of the funds in respect of the scholarship.

This Scholarship Scheme, to be offered to students who are resident citizens of Member States of the African Union, is limited to public tertiary education institutions, namely:

  1. University of Mauritius
  2. University of Technology, Mauritius
  3. Université des Mascareignes
  4. Fashion and Design Institute
  5. Mauritius Institute of Education
  6. Mahatma Gandhi Institute
  7. Rabindranath Tagore Institute

Students must return to their country of origin following their studies in Mauritius.

*Applicable as from 01 July 2017

MPhil/PhD HEC Postdoctoral
Research Fellowships
Research Fellowship